Five Questions: Sara Beth Goldfine, Jewelry Designer

1122 sbgSara Beth Goldfine grew up in Golden Valley and then went to Los Angeles where she became a jewelry designer with a celebrity following — including Brooke Shields and Paris Hilton. Now back in the Twin Cities, the locals have dibs on the in the SBG Designs collection at Three Rooms. Just in time for the holidays, Sara offered an inside look at her style.

Q What’s your favorite piece of jewelry right now?
A Lately I have been really into pearls.  I have this pearl necklace that is extremely versatile!  I can wear it as a long necklace, double the strands a short necklace or even wrap the pearls around my wrist as a multiple strand bracelet.  The crystal magnetic clasp gives it a vintage look and creates a unique design element.  This is my go-to for everything from a denim shirt to a party dress.

Q How long have you been making jewelry?
A I have been making jewelry since I learned how to weave friendship bracelets back in elementary school.  I became bored with the string and started taking apart my mother’s old jewelry so that I could create my own one-of-a-kind pieces.  The hobby evolved throughout my childhood and soon enough, I turned the hobby into a business.

Q What’s a must-have piece of jewelry for fall/winter/holiday 2013?
A My Spy Necklace. (Pictured above.)

Q What is inspiring your current collection?
A It’s all about the sparkle to ring in the holiday feeling.  The more the merrier.

Q Best piece of advice on wearing/styling jewelry?
A Jewelry should be a representation of your personality.  If you’re feeling bold, wear something bold.  Don’t be afraid to pair a great statement necklace with a plain t-shirt.  You can be comfortable and look chic without trying too hard.

SBG Designs trunk show at Three Rooms, 11 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday

Leave a Reply

